A Klingon Christmas Carol

I just got home from opening night of Commedia Beauregard’s “A Klingon Christmas Carol,” which is the show I spent the week teching. This is the second year I’ve provided sound design for the show; this year, though, I also composed the music.

This is the fourth production of “A Christmas Carol” that I’ve sound-designed, in one form or another. In fact, my very first theatre sound design was a community theatre production of the show. I also worked on a one-man version of the Dickens classic a few years ago, called (not surprisingly) “One-Man Christmas Carol.” Even years and years apart, it’s fun and challenging to find fresh new approaches to the same material – though certainly setting it in the Star Trek universe spins it in a whole different direction than more traditional productions!

“A Klingon Christmas Carol” is running at the Raven Theater in Chicago through December 29, 2013.

Leave a Reply

